职业网球网

球迷认证

登陆 登陆

ATP Heritage

一切是怎样开始的

history.gif

自1968年首个“网球公开赛”,网球这项体育运动已经历了漫长的发展。ATP也是这段历史的一个组成部分。

1968年之前,大满贯赛事和其他全国性的锦标赛只对业余网球手开放。两年之后,世界各地的网球锦标赛形成一个称为“大奖赛”的统一组织。1972年,一群网球先锋人士齐心协力创建了职业网球协会。

在ATP历史上,又一项具有决定性意义的举措诞生了,一群比赛场上顶尖的球员在美国网球公开赛进行期间,他们在一处僻静的天井商谈为选手成立一个协会事宜。在杰克·克拉玛作为第一任常务董事兼主席的领导之下,ATP开始为组织更优良的球赛而努力。

这项组织首要的任务就是建立一个电脑排名系统用来分析球员赛事表现和一个客观的方法来决定球员是否具备参赛资格。ATP排名起始于1973年8月23日,直至今日依旧为男子职业网球官方排名系统。

从1974年至1989年,男子世界巡回网球赛事由国际男子职业网球理事会管理,该协会由来自ATP和世界各地的赛事总监组成的国际网球联合会代表组成。

尽管MTC 使得赛事得到极大的进步和提升,但是球员开始认识到他们在球场上需要更多的发言权。他们开始意识到是时候由他们自己在场上掌握更多的主动权。 

1988年美国网球公开赛期间,ATP总裁汉密尔顿·乔丹(图示)在停车站召开了一场媒体见面会受到许多顶尖球员前呼后拥。这则“网球-进退两难的十字路口”的演说概括了男子网坛所面临的困难和机遇。对于ATP来说,创立一项新的赛事即ATP世界巡回赛成为解决问题的办法之一。

新赛事的推行很快受到了当时世界排名前100名球员中超过85名球员的积极响应,他们在一封支持新赛制信上联合签名。1988年秋天,有24位球员包括世界排名前十中的八位选手签署合同同意参加1990年的ATP世界巡回赛赛事。同年秋天,赛事总监代表世界上许多领先赛事发表声明表示支持选手并将加入他们,在专业体育运动领域成为独特的伙伴关系 即球员和锦标赛方面各自在新赛制的运作上应该拥有平等发言权。

2009赛季标志着ATP掌管世界性男子职业网球赛事已走过的20年的风雨。现在让我们来回顾一下这段历程中的闪耀之笔:

atplogo1972.jpg 1973
ATP建立了一套电脑排名系统以求公平公正得分析球员场上表现,并创立了一种客观的方式来决定球员是否具备正选资格。8月23日伊利耶·纳斯塔塞夺得世界第一, ATP排名系统第一次投入使用。其他举措包括赛事代表宣传赛事,设置标准化的奖金分配,赛事管理和纪律准则。在球员抵制参加温布尔登公开赛为了给尼基·皮利奇声援之后(尼基·皮利奇因错过参加戴维斯杯而遭到南斯拉夫联盟停赛处罚),ATP就此事展现了其处理事件的能力 。
1974
由ATP和草地网球联合和赛事总监共同组成的国际男子职业网球理事会立志于将网球事业发展成为一项“为管理职业赛事而建立的独立、民主和国际化的机构。
1976
ATP双打电脑排名系统从3月1日正式开始运作。
1978
由八支球队参加角逐的戴维斯杯在杜塞尔多夫举行,这是世界上第一项世界团体世界杯赛事。

1979
国际男子职业网球理事会专职管理人员受雇于男子世界巡回赛事,佩恩作为官方比赛用球。具有突破性的是,在过去21年作为美国网球锦标赛的赞助商,有四名中国球员参加由ATP主办的美国网球锦标赛。

1980
ATP设立球员保险基金。
1983
ATP成员接近500名。
1985
应ATP要求,国际男子职业网球理事会通过了一项药物检测条例,使得ATP成为世界上第一个拥有可行和周详的药物检测项目的职业体育赛事。
1986
为了建立一套连贯的比赛日程,国际男子职业网球理事将澳大利亚网球公开赛推延一个月至1987年1月举行,而将大师赛提前一个月至1986年12月举行。
19881988
美国网球公开赛举办期间,球员在ATP总裁汉密尔顿•乔丹的感召下于停车场召开了一个新闻发布会以此声明球员需要在比赛中占据更多控制权。这场“走在十字路口的网球” 发布会上提出了一项针对球员建立新赛制的计划纲要,球员将在其中起重要作用并在赛事发展方面承担更多责任。新闻发布会之后的一周里,85名世界排名前100位的球员在一封支持新赛制的信件上签字。赛事总监代表世界上许多领先赛事发表声明表示支持选手并将加入他们,在专业体育运动领域成为独特的伙伴关系。既球员和锦标赛方面各自在新赛制的运作上应该拥有平等发言权。
atptour1990.gif 1989
ATP世界排名前50位的球员全部签订合约,同意参加1990年启动的新的ATP世界男子职业网球巡回赛。考虑到为期八周的赛事淡季,赛事日程将做重新安排。
1990
ATP世界男子职业网球巡回赛获得IBM鼎力赞助,开创了球员和赛事分别获得相同企业赞助的新纪元。这项巡回赛将在世界七大洲28个国家举办76场锦标赛。赛事奖金平均增长50%。印第安纳波利斯锦标赛的赛事总监迈克-米乐担任ATP执行总裁。
19911991
电视台首次向全球观众直播19项ATP男子赛事。
19931993
ATP巡回赛在全球范围内增加赛点,在阿拉伯海湾地区增加两站ATP巡回赛,一站是多哈,另一站则是迪拜。赛事奖金也增加23%。
1995
ATP网球巡回赛首次发布ATP Web 网站,ATP在线平台,并邀请当时的流行歌手Seal录制《勇往直前》赛事主题曲以进一步扩大影响力。该主题曲在ATP网球巡回赛颁奖盛典演唱, 另一首《星夜》也在汉诺威举行的ATP世界锦标赛上被倾情呈现。
1996
奔驰与ATP签订了一个为期四年的赞助协议。作为ATP官方用车,梅赛德斯-奔驰为ATP所有赛事提供官方用车,赛事举办期间向大众展示奔驰顶尖产品,同时梅赛德斯-奔驰的三叉星车标志也会出现在球网位置。
19971997
ATP冠军元老赛正式拉开帷幕.
19981998
由球星组织的明星聚会活动为ATP球员提供更多与媒体,赞助商和球迷接触的机会。ATP已向超过200个国家出售球赛转播权。
atptour2000.jpg 2000
2001年“ATP Tour”更名为ATP并采用新的专用标志,同时将9站顶尖赛事重新命名为“ATP大师系列赛”。
2001
ATPtennis.com作为一个新发布网站将新的赛制结构,ATP赛事区域规划,商业重心和全新市场的规划,品牌授权和电视直播机会作为重点。
20022002
球员通过电视播放和大众杂志增加了知名度,同时ATP也发布其的官方刊物:DEUCE杂志。ATP携手WTA合作一个名为“One Game”的项目,旨在鼓励更多专业球迷加入。
2005
德维利耶于6月被任命为ATP总裁。印度洋海啸发生后,众球星在世界排名第一的球员费德勒动员下,通过捐赠赛事奖金和组织筹款义赛 --“ATP全明星赈灾拉力赛”积极为海啸受难者募集资金。在筹款义赛上,ATP与联合国儿童基金会建立名为ACE的全球合作伙伴关系,以帮助全球的儿童。
20062006
德维利耶担任ATP执行主席兼总裁的职位。ATP和一些主要的赞助商签订合作协议,包括启用南非航空公司为ATP的官方航空公司。基于双打明星们积累了众多支持以及在“ATP双打改革”活动和赛事规划中大量的曝光率, 斯坦福金融集团与ATP双打赛事官方成为合作伙伴关系。挑战赛首次在迈阿密播放并且成功在13场锦标赛上展示。
2007
为了给球迷,媒体和球员呈现更激情的赛事体验,ATP对赛制做出了修改包括去除五盘三胜的规则,减少五站ATP大师系列赛签位,从而保证56位选手的身体健康并增加电视节目;ATP首周比赛可于周日开始。ATP自2000年以来首次增加赛事奖金并创建了数百万美元的市场行销基金。ATP在市场行销方面再接再厉,鼓励球迷重新认识赛事,了解ATP“双打规则”,通过此举,现场观看人数突破4百万大关,电视播放时段加长,电视观众实现破纪录,由此带来15%的收益增长。
Nadal2008
世界排名前三的选手纳达尔,费德勒和德约科维奇都是ATP球员协会的主要成员。费德勒还担任着球员协会主席的职位。这是历史上首次世界前三的选手同时连续两届入选该协会。世界性网球组织包括女子职业网球协会,国际网球联合会,男子职业网球协会和大满贯委员会将成为一个完整的联合会。2008赛季,ATP Feel It网球赛事宣传活动将蓬勃开展。英国巴克莱银行与赛事主办方签署了一项新的协议由此成为2009 ATP世界巡回赛总决赛的冠名赞助商,赛事主办方和南非航空公司,日本理光,意大利国家电力公司将重新订立合作关系。

atptour2009.jpg2009
2009ATP世界巡回赛以一种简单扼要的赛制结构闪亮登场,这种赛制结构为球员制定了一项合理的、更有利于球员健康的赛事安排,也将带来耗资十亿元的基础设施和设备升级,同时球员赛事补贴也将提升33%。新的积分计算制度将在ATP南非航空世界排名中投入使用,并以赛事名称区分各级别赛事:ATP1000大师赛,ATP世界巡回赛500赛,ATP世界巡回赛250赛。
2010
此赛季期间科罗纳宣布成为ATP的首席赞助商,FedEx成为白金赞助商。在11月,ATP执行总监和主席亚当·赫尔芬特宣布2012赛季将把休赛季延长到七周。 休赛季延长帮助球员们获得更多的休息时间和更多赛季间的训练时间,这一2012-13ATP世界巡回赛赛季日程在伦敦会议中被ATP董事会同意通过。
20112011
ATP公布了全新的广告计划,'GAME ON',呈现了超过50位球员。同时公布了多年奖金协议,到2014年ATP世界巡回赛奖金将超过9千万美金(不包括大满贯)。两项主要赞助商合约签订,酩悦香槟成为ATP世界巡回赛“指定香槟”和State of Rio de Janeiro为指定旅行社。ATP Aces慈善基金会公布,12个$10,000颁布给了不同的赛事和球员们。
20122012
布拉德·德拉维特在一月接任了ATP执行总裁和主席。罗杰·费德勒获得了个人第17个大满贯冠军,之后重获排名第一,打破了皮特·桑普拉斯的记录,最终将排名第一的记录改写为302周。巴克莱ATP世界巡回赛总决赛在伦敦取得了263,229位粉丝观赛,将赴O2观看此赛事的粉丝数超过1百万。ATP公布此项赛季末总决赛将继续留在伦敦两年,直到2015年,巴克莱ATP世界巡回赛将继续赞助此赛事两年。 海德和理光继续延长与ATP的合作关系,ATP同意将一项ATP世界巡回赛500系列赛在2014年迁移至里约热内卢。 ATP成立了一个竞赛委员会来评估和建议ATP世界巡回赛和ATP挑战赛的级别。在12月,ATP公布了阿联酋航空成为了全新的排名赞助商。

白金合作伙伴



网站ATPWorldTour.com ©版权归属 1994年 - 2017年 ATP巡回赛公司。将保留一切解释权利。未经ATP Tour, Inc.书面许可,不得将本网站任何内容复制和存储于检索系统中,也不得以任何形式进行传播(包括利用电子手段复印、记录或存储于任何形式的媒体中)。

条款及条件 | 隐私声明 | 联系我们 | 手机专用

EmailDeliciousMixxRedditStumbleUpon

Pro Tennis Internet Network

ATP Heritage

How it all began

history.gif

Tennis has come a long way since "Open Tennis" began in 1968 and the ATP's been part of the storied history.

The Grand Slam tournaments and all other national championships were open to amateur competitors only prior to 1968. Two years later tournaments around the world formed a unified circuit, which became the Grand Prix. In 1972, the leading professionals joined forces to create the Association of Tennis Professionals.

This direction marked another defining moment in the history of the ATP, when a handful of the game's leading players met in a secluded stairwell at the US Open to discuss the need for a players' association. Under the leadership of newly elected Executive Director Jack Kramer and President Cliff Drysdale, the ATP came to life with a goal of changing the game for the better.

One of the initial acts of the organisation was the establishment of a computer ranking system that provided fair analysis of a player's performance as well as an objective means to determine entries into tournaments. The ATP Rankings began on Aug. 23, 1973 and has continued through today as the official ranking system in men's professional tennis. Read: The Rankings That Changed Tennis

From 1974 to 1989, the men's circuit was administered by the Men's Tennis Council, made up of representatives of the International Tennis Federation (ITF), the ATP and tournament directors from around the world.

Although the period during which the MTC guided the game was one of tremendous progress and improvement, players began to feel more and more that they should have a greater voice in their sport. Players had realised the time had come for them to take more control over the game.

At the 1988 US Open, ATP CEO Hamilton Jordan (pictured), surrounded by many of the top players in the game, held the now-famous "press conference in the parking lot." The ATP released "Tennis at the Crossroads," outlining the problems and opportunities facing men's tennis. One of the options available to the ATP was the formation of a new circuit, the ATP Tour. Read: The Parking Lot Press Conference

Support for the new Tour was quick in coming as over 85 of the Top 100 players signed a letter of support for a new system. Later in the fall of 1988, 24 players, including eight of the Top 10, signed contracts to play the ATP Tour in 1990. Also that fall, tournament directors representing many of the world's leading events voiced their support for the players and joined them in what was to become a partnership unique in professional sports, with an equal voice in how the circuit is run.

The 2009 season will mark the 20th year the ATP has administered the worldwide circuit of men's professional tennis. Here is a look at some of the highlights through the years:

atplogo1972.jpg 1973
The ATP establishes the computer ranking system, providing a fair analysis of a player's performance and creating an objective way to determine entries into tournaments. The ATP Rankings are introduced on August 23 with Ilie Nastase debuting at No. 1. Other actions include placing tournament representatives on the road and standardising prize money distribution and the conduct and discipline code. The ATP shows its strength and sends message of player unity after players boycott Wimbledon to defend Niki Pilic's position against a Yugoslavian Federation suspension for missing a Davis Cup match. 
1974
The Men's International Professional Tennis Council (MIPTC), made up of ATP, ILTF and tournament directors, is formed to govern the sport as an independent, democratic, international body for the administration of professional tennis.
1976
The ATP Doubles computer rankings begin on March 1.
1978
The Nations Cup, featuring eight competing nations, becomes the World Team Cup in Dusseldorf, the first ATP Championship.
1979: Full-time MIPTC supervisors are employed on the men's tour, and Penn becomes the official ball of the ATP. In a ground-breaking move, four young Chinese players compete in U.S. tournaments for the first time in over 21 years after being sponsored by the ATP.
1980
The ATP sets up a player pension fund.
1983
ATP membership approaches 500.
1985
At the request of the ATP, MIPTC passes a Drug Testing Rule, making tennis the first professional sport to institute a workable and well-designed drug-testing program.
1986
In an effort to make the calendar more coherent, the MIPTC moves the Australian Open a month back to January ('87) and the Masters a month earlier to December ('86).
19881988
The players, under ATP CEO Hamilton Jordan, hold a press conference in the US Open parking lot to announce that they will assume more control of the game. "Tennis at the Crossroads" outlines a plan for players to form a new tour in which they would play a major role and bear greater responsibility for the future of the sport. The idea is quickly embraced by the membership. Eighty-five of the Top 100 ranked players sign a letter of support for a new tour within weeks of the news conference. Tournament directors representing many of the world's leading events voice their support for the players and join them in what was to become a partnership unique in professional sports; players and tournaments each with an equal voice in how the circuit is run.
atptour1990.gif 1989
All Top 50 players contractually agree to play the new ATP Tour in 1990. A new calendar is structured allowing for an eight-week off-season and tournaments are realigned.
1990
Sponsored by IBM, the ATP Tour era begins with an equal partnership between players and tournaments. The circuit features 76 tournaments in 28 countries on seven continents, with prize money averaging a 50% increase at the events. Indianapolis tournament director Mark Miles is named ATP CEO.
19911991
The first television package for men's tennis broadcasts 19 tournaments to a worldwide audience.
19931993
The ATP Tour extends its global reach, adding Arabian Gulf tournaments in Doha and Dubai. Prize money continues to rise, increasing by 23%.
1995
The ATP Tour launches its first ATP website, ATP Online, and further broadens its reach by enlisting pop star Seal to record the anthem "Bring it On" which he sings at the ATP Tour Awards Gala and Night of the Stars at the ATP World Championships in Hannover.
1996
The Mercedes-Benz/ATP partnership begins with a four-year agreement. As the "Official Car of the ATP", Mercedes-Benz provides official transportation at ATP tournaments, showcases prominent car displays at tournament sites and positions its Mercedes-Benz "star" signage on nets.
19971997
The ATP Senior Tour of Champions is sanctioned.
19981998
Players form a new STARS program as the ATP Tour helps make players more accessible to media, sponsors and fans. ATP broadcasts extend their reach to more than 200 countries.
atptour2000.jpg 2000
The ATP Tour changes its name to ATP for 2001, introduces a new logo and rebrands its nine premier tournaments the Tennis Masters Series.
2001
A newly launched website, ATPtennis.com, highlights the new tournament structure. ATP Properties forms, instigating a more commercial focus and new marketing, licensing and broadcasting opportunities.
20022002
Players gain greater visibility with appearances in television shows and popular magazines, prompting the ATP to launch its own publication: DEUCE magazine. The ATP combines with the WTA Tour to create the "One Game" program, enacting initiatives to better serve professional tennis fans.
2005
Etienne de Villiers is named ATP Chairman in June. ATP stars unite behind ATP World No. 1 Roger Federer to raise funds for tsunami victims, donating prize money and organising the "ATP All-Star Rally for Relief." At the exhibition, the ATP and UNICEF launch a global partnership called ACE, Assisting Children Everywhere.
20062006
De Villiers expands his role to become ATP Executive Chairman and President. The ATP signs several major new sponsorship agreements, including the naming of South African Airways as Official Airline. Stanford Financial Group becomes the Official Partner of ATP Doubles as doubles stars gain greater support and exposure through a promotional "ATP Doubles Revolution" campaign and new match format. The player challenge, utilising video review for close line calls, debuts in Miami and is successfully implemented at 13 tournaments.
2007
The ATP introduces enhancements to fan, sponsor, media and player experience at tournaments, including elimination of best-of-5 set finals; reduced draw sizes at five ATP Masters Series events, making them 56-player fields to ensure player health and enhance TV scheduling; and Sunday starts to build Opening Weekends at ATP tournaments. The ATP also increases prize money for the first time since 2000 and creates a new multi-million dollar marketing fund. A renewed marketing effort encourages fans to rediscover the tandem game and find out why ATP "Doubles Rules." ATP revenues grow by 15%, a record 4 million fans attend ATP tournaments and broadcast hours grow with record numbers watching on television.
Nadal2008
The top three players, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic, take a leadership role by becoming ATP Player Council members with Federer as president. It's the first time in the organisation's history the top three players have joined the council in the same two-year period. All worldwide tennis organisations (WTA, ITF, ATP & Grand Slam Committee) form an integrity unit. The ATP's "Feel It" player promotion campaign is implemented throughout the season. Sponsorship deals with South African Airways, Ricoh and Enel are renewed while a new agreement is struck with Barclays to become the sponsor of the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals in London.
atptour2009.jpg2009
The ATP World Tour is unveiled with a simplified tour structure that brings a rationalised, healthier player schedule, a $1 billion investment in infrastructure and facility upgrades and a 33% increase in player compensation. A new point scale for the South African Airways ATP Rankings is implemented and tournament tiers featuring ATP World Tour Masters 1000, ATP World Tour 500 and ATP World Tour 250 events.
2010
During the season two major sponsors are announced with the signing of Corona Extra as a premier partner, and FedEx as a platinum partner. In November, ATP Executive Chairman and President Adam Helfant announces that the 2012 calendar has been approved to include the extension of the off-season to seven weeks. The increased break, designed to allow players more time for rest and training between seasons, is approved for the 2012-13 ATP World Tour calendars by the ATP Board at its London meetings.
20112011
The ATP unveils its new advertising campaign, 'GAME ON', featuring more than 50 players. A multi-year prize money agreement is announced, seeing levels on the ATP World Tour exceed $90 million (not including Grand Slams) for the first time by 2014. In two major sponsorship deals, Moët and Chandon becomes the ‘Official Champagne’ of the ATP World Tour and the State of Rio de Janeiro the official tourism destination. The ATP ACES For Charity grant programme is launched, with 12 $10,000 grants awarded to charitable causes nominated by tournaments and players.
20122012
Brad Drewett takes over as ATP Executive Chairman & President in January. Roger Federer captured his 17th Grand Slam title and by doing so, reclaimed the No. 1 ranking, passing Pete Sampras’ all-time record and ultimately setting a new mark with 302 weeks at the top. The Barclays ATP World Tour Finals welcomed a record 263,229 fans in London, with the four year total since the tournament moved to The O2 exceeding the 1 million mark. It was announced that the season-ending tournament would remain in London a further two years, through 2015, with Barclays extending its title sponsorship of the event. Both HEAD and Ricoh signed multi-year partnership extensions, whilst the ATP approved the move of an ATP World Tour 500 tournament to Rio de Janeiro in 2014. ATP formed a competition committee to evaluate and recommend changes at ATP World Tour and ATP Challenger Tour levels. In December, the ATP announced Emirates would become the new rankings sponsor.
2013
The ATP announces new global partnerships with Emirates, Rolex and Tecnifibre. The ATP Heritage Programme is launched to celebrate the 40-year anniversary of the Emirates ATP Rankings and the history of the ATP, culminating with a No.1 celebration event at the Waldorf Astoria in New York. Brad Drewett, the then-current ATP Executive Chairman & President, passes away in May from Motor Neurone Disease. In the preceding 12 months, Drewett had led discussions resulting in significant prize money increases for all players across all Grand Slams. The ATP Board of Directors approves the re-categorisation of Queen’s and Halle as ATP World Tour 500 events from 2015, as well as a new ATP World Tour 250 event in Shenzhen, China, from 2014. The 2013 ATP World Tour season sets a new attendance record with 4.47 million fans on site. Chris Kermode is appointed as ATP Executive Chairman & President from 1 January 2014.

PLATINUM PARTNERS


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2014 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile

EmailDeliciousDeliciousDiggDiggFacebookFacebookMixxMixxRedditRedditStumbleUponStumbleUpon