Pro Tennis Internet Network

Shark Bites


Nadal© Getty ImagesRafael Nadal goes for his fourth straight Grand Slam title at the Australian Open.

ATP stats and information guru Greg Sharko looks at the numbers behind the stories of the ATP World Tour.


World No. 1 Rafael Nadal attempts to become the first player since Rod Laver in 1969 to win four consecutive Grand Slam titles. Nadal, who won the Australian Open two years ago, lost his only Grand Slam match last season when he retired with a knee injury in the quarter-finals to Andy Murray. Laver won a Grand Slam for the second time that year. Since Laver accomplished the feat there have been three other occasions when three straight Grand Slam titles were won, only to come up short at Roland Garros:

History Grand Slam Title Run Roland Garros Result
Roger Federer 2006 Wimbledon, US Open; 2007 Australian Open Runner-up
Roger Federer 2005 Wimbledon, US Open; 2006 Australian Open Runner-up
Pete Sampras 1993 Wimbledon, US Open; 1994 Australian Open Quarter-finals


Federer and Nadal have accounted for 21 of the past 23 Grand Slam titles since the Spaniard broke through to capture his first Slam crown at Roland Garros in 2005. During that span, Federer has earned 12 titles and Nadal nine. The only players to win a Slam title during the strangelehold are Juan Martin del Potro (2009 US Open) and Novak Djokovic (2008 Australian Open).

2010 US Open
2010 Wimbledon
2010 Roland Garros
2010 Australian Open
Rafael Nadal
Rafael Nadal
Rafael Nadal
Roger Federer
2009 US Open
2009 Wimbledon
2009 Roland Garros
2009 Australian Open
Juan Martin del Potro
Roger Federer
Roger Federer
Rafael Nadal
2008 US Open
2008 Wimbledon
2008 Roland Garros
2008 Australian Open
Roger Federer
Rafael Nadal
Rafael Nadal
Novak Djokovic
2007 US Open
2007 Wimbledon
2007 Roland Garros
2007 Australian Open
Roger Federer
Roger Federer
Rafael Nadal
Roger Federer
2006 US Open
2006 Wimbledon
2006 Roland Garros
2006 Australian Open
Roger Federer
Roger Federer
Rafael Nadal
Roger Federer
2005 US Open
2005 Wimbledon
2005 Roland Garros
Roger Federer
Roger Federer
Rafael Nadal


Federer is playing in his 45th consecutive Grand Slam tournament, the longest active streak among players on the ATP World Tour. Tommy Robredo follows with 41 straight Slams played. Here is a look at the most consecutive Grand Slam tournaments played (min. 40) in the Open Era:

Consecutive Slam Events Played
1. Wayne Ferreira
2. Stefan Edberg
3. Fabrice Santoro
4. Roger Federer
5. Dominik Hrbaty
6. Tommy Robredo

* Active player


Since 1980, six players have broken through to win their first Grand Slam title at the Australian Open. During that same span, there have been 15 players who have broken through to win their first Grand Slam crown at Roland Garros. Here is a look at the breakthrough winners in Melbourne:

Year – Winner
1980 – Brian Teacher #
1981 – Johan Kriek
1985 – Stefan Edberg
1998 – Petr Korda #
2002 – Thomas Johansson #
2008 – Novak Djokovic #

# Only Grand Slam title

Back To Table Of Contents

Facebook Fans


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2015 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile