Pro Tennis Internet Network

Shark Bites


Federer© Getty ImagesDefending champion Roger Federer will make his 10th straight appearance at the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals.

ATP stats and information guru Greg Sharko looks at the numbers behind the stories of the ATP World Tour.


This season the Top 4 players of Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray and Roger Federer have accounted for 21 titles together in 22 tournaments featuring at least one of the foursome. Here’s a breakdown:

Tournament Djokovic Nadal Murray Federer
Doha DNP SF DNP Winner
Australian Open Winner QF R-Up SF
Rotterdam DNP DNP 1st Rd. DNP
Dubai Winner DNP 1st Rd. R-Up
Indian Wells Winner R-Up 2nd Rd. (bye) SF
Miami Winner R-Up 2nd Rd. (bye) SF
Monte Carlo DNP Winner SF QF
Barcelona DNP Winner DNP DNP
Belgrade Winner DNP DNP DNP
Madrid Winner R-Up 3rd Rd. SF
Rome Winner R-Up SF 3rd Rd.
Roland Garros SF Winner SF R-Up
Queen's DNP QF Winner DNP
Wimbledon Winner R-Up SF QF
Montreal Winner 2nd Rd. (bye) 2nd Rd. (bye) 3rd Rd.
Cincinnati R-Up QF Winner QF
US Open Winner R-Up SF SF
Bangkok DNP DNP Winner DNP
Tokyo DNP R-Up Winner DNP
Shanghai DNP 3rd Rd. Winner DNP
Basel SF DNP DNP Winner
Paris QF DNP QF Winner


Here is a look at the head-to-head breakdown of both groups in the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals:

Group A Head-to-Head Total
Novak Djokovic 6-4 vs. Murray, 6-4 vs. Ferrer, 7-1 vs. Berdych 19-9
Andy Murray 4-6 vs. Djokovic, 5-3 vs. Ferrer, 1-3 vs. Berdych 10-12
David Ferrer 4-6 vs. Djokovic, 3-5 vs. Murray, 5-2 vs. Berdych 12-13
Tomas Berdych 1-7 vs. Djokovic, 3-1 vs. Murray, 2-5 vs. Ferrer 6-13

Group B Head-to-Head Total
Rafael Nadal 17-8 vs. Federer, 6-2 vs. Tsonga,
7-1 vs. Fish
Roger Federer 8-17 vs. Nadal, 6-3 vs. Tsonga,
6-1 vs. Fish
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 2-6 vs. Nadal, 3-6 vs. Tsonga, 1-0 vs. Fish 6-12
Mardy Fish 1-7 vs. Nadal, 1-6 vs. Federer,
0-1 vs. Tsonga


With Mardy Fish qualifying for the first time in the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals, an American has been in the year-end championship for the 25th straight year (since 1987). Here is a look at the Americans who have been in the tournament in the past 25 years:

Player Years
Mardy Fish 2011
Andy Roddick 2003-04, ‘06-10 (qualified in ‘05 but DNP-injury)
Andre Agassi 1988-91, ‘94, ‘96, ‘98-2003, ‘05
(qualified in ’95 but DNP-injury)
Pete Sampras 1990-2000
Jim Courier 1991-93, ‘95
Michael Chang 1989, ‘92-97
Todd Martin 1999
Aaron Krickstein 1989
John McEnroe 1989
Brad Gilbert 1987, ‘89
Tim Mayotte 1988
Jimmy Connors 1987

Back To Table Of Contents 

Facebook Fans


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2015 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile