Pro Tennis Internet Network

Moodie-Norman Advance To Second Straight Final

Top seeds Wesley Moodie and Dick Norman reached their team’s second straight final after edging past Eric Butorac and Scott Lipsky 6-4, 3-6, 12-10 on Thursday at the Ordina Open, an ATP World Tour 250 tennis tournament in ‘s-Hertogenbosch.

The South African-Belgian duo, who made their partnership debut in February at Marseille, were finalists two weeks ago at Roland Garros; they upset seeds Max Mirnyi-Andy Ram and Bob Bryan-Mike Bryan before falling to Lukas Dlouhy and Leander Paes in the final. Moodie followed up his clay-court success by clinching the grass-court title last week with Russian Mikhail Youzhny at The Queen’s Club.

In quarter-final action, the new pairing of Oliver Marach and David Skoch battled to a 7-6(5), 6-7(3), 11-9 win over Dutch wild cards Raemon Sluiter and Peter Wessels in one hour and 46 minutes. They will face Johan Brunstrom and Jean-Julien Rojer for a place in the title match.

At the AEGON International in Eastbourne, the Polish duo of Mariusz Fyrstenberg and Marcin Matkowski ousted defending champions and No. 3 seeds Bruno Soares and Kevin Ullyett 2-6, 7-6(5), 11-9 to reach the final at the ATP World Tour 250 tennis tournament.

Fyrstenberg and Matkowski are through to a final for the first time since October 2008 at Madrid, where they went on to clinch their first ATP World Tour Masters 1000 title with victory over Mahesh Bhupathi and Mark Knowles. They finished the season at No. 7 in the 2008 ATP Doubles Team Rankings.

They will meet the American-Slovakian team of Travis Parrott and Filip Polasek in the final. Parrott and Polasek eased into their fourth ATP World Tour final with a 6-2, 6-4 win over Jeff Coetzee and Jordan Kerr. The duo was finalists earlier this year at Memphis (l. to Fish-Knowles) and claimed their first title in October 2008 at St. Petersburg.

Facebook Fans

Search News

2015 Getty Images


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2015 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile