Pro Tennis Internet Network

Bryan Twins, Zeballos, Washington Presented ATP Awards For 2009

Miami, USA

Horacio Zeballos© Getty ImagesArgentine Horacio Zeballos poses with his Newcomer Of The Year award for 2009.

Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan, Horacio Zeballos and MaliVai Washington have been presented with ATP awards at the Sony Ericsson Open in Miami.

The Bryans were presented with the Doubles Team Of The Year and the Fans’ Favourite Doubles Team awards for 2009 on Saturday, following their 6-0, 6-3 first-round win over Rafael Nadal and Bartolome Salva-Vidal at the Sony Ericsson Open in Miami.

The American twins finished as ATP World Tour Champions for the fifth time in seven years (2003, 2005-07, 2009), capturing seven titles, including at the Australian Open and the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals in London. They were voted the most popular doubles team on the ATP World Tour for the fifth straight year, receiving 50 per cent of the votes.

See Full List of 2009 ATP Award Winners

Earlier in the week at the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 hard-court tennis tournament, Zeballos received the 2009 Newcomer of the Year award.

In 2009, the 24-year-old Argentine finished as his country's No. 3 player and made one of the biggest ranking jumps into the Top 50 of the South African Airways ATP Rankings, from No. 209 in 2008 to No. 45 last year.

DEUCE Magazine: On The Rise… Zeballos

Former ATP pro Washington, the 1996 Wimbledon runner-up, was also presented the Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Of The Year award.

The American has devoted himself to helping thousands of underprivileged Jacksonville children since 1994, when he established the MaliVai Washington Kids Foundation to promote academic achievement and positive life skills.

The mission of the MaliVai Washington Kids Foundation is to develop champions in classrooms, on tennis courts and throughout communities.

Facebook Fans

Search News

© ATP World Tour/Peter Staples


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2015 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile