Pro Tennis Internet Network

Nadal, Murray Locked In Playstation Dispute

Shanghai, China

Rafael Nadal© Getty ImagesRafael Nadal claims he and Juan Monaco won 2-1.

The competitive nature of tennis players means a loss can often be hard to swallow, but in the case of Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray, it means point blank refusal to admit defeat is the case after a heated game of Pro Evolution Soccer on Tuesday evening.

Nadal teamed with Argentine Juan Monaco, while Murray paired with his friend, Dani Vallverdu and all day Wednesday the argument has raged via Twitter and post-match press conferences – just exactly who was the winner?

Juan Monaco was the first to announce the result on Twitter, claiming that he and Nadal had won 2-1 in a best-of-three contest. It quickly became apparent, though, that there was a certain dispute about the rules in a penalty shoot out.

“@picomonaco is trying to claim that penalties doesn't count, que es eso?” tweeted Murray to his followers following the match. Retorted Monaco: “@andy_murray The rules are the rules, had agreed that there was no tie and no penalties !! you cannot be seriuos mannnnnnn”

With the world’s media eager to hear a straight story Wednesday, Murray was able to share his version first, having finished his match at the Shanghai Rolex Masters before Nadal played.

“Basically we agreed to play best of three. They won the first match. The second match went into extra time, and they decided if it went to penalties, it didn't count because they didn't know how to take penalties. So the match finished as a draw,” explained the Scot. “They said, ‘Okay, we're not playing. Didn't want to play penalties. We drew the game.’  I think we won that one because they didn't want to take the penalties. Then we won the third game. Then they wanted to play a fourth one, which they won. So I think it was 2-2. They think it was 2-1 for them.  But we were the better team, so that was the most important thing (smiling)."

Nadal’s version? “I am not going to answer because everybody who was there knows who won yesterday night. So if he's happy coming here and lying to everybody, it's okay (smiling). But we won, that's true. Monaco and me, we won 2-1. That's true.”

Should the penalties count? Discuss On Facebook

 

Facebook Fans

Search News

© Getty Images

PLATINUM PARTNERS


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2014 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile

EmailDeliciousDeliciousDiggDiggFacebookFacebookMixxMixxRedditRedditStumbleUponStumbleUpon