Pro Tennis Internet Network

Nalbandian Awarded AEGON Championships Wild Card

London, England

Nalbandian© AFP/Getty ImagesDavid Nalbandian reached the 2002 Wimbledon final.

The 2002 Wimbledon finalist David Nalbandian has been awarded a wild card into the main draw of the AEGON Championships at The Queen’s Club, 6th-12th June.
Nalbandian has suffered with injuries over the past 12 months, but although the French Open will come too soon for him in his comeback, he will be ready to play on grass at The AEGON Championships.  The Argentine  will compete in a main draw that also features the World No.1 Rafael Nadal, the Australian Open champion Novak Djokovic, the World No.4 Andy Murray, the four-time champion Andy Roddick and the 2009 US Open winner Juan Martin Del Potro.
“I am looking forward to starting my comeback from injury on grass at the AEGON Championships at The Queen’s Club,” said a grateful Nalbandian.
“It has been a frustrating time, but my recovery is going well and I expect to be in good shape for the tournament. I enjoy playing on grass, and reaching the Wimbledon final in 2002 was a special moment in my career. I hope to have a successful grass court season this year.”
Tournament Director Chris Kermode was delighted to welcome him into the singles main draw.
“The AEGON Championships has a tradition of using its wild cards to give opportunities to established players who have had a difficult time with injuries,” he said. “In awarding our first wild card to David Nalbandian we have maintained that tradition, and added an exciting, explosive and entertaining tennis player to our singles main draw.”
The tournament still has four wild cards to award before the tournament gets underway on Monday 6th June.

The AEGON Championships will be broadcast live, every day from 6th-12th June, on BBC Television and Eurosport.

Buy Tickets | Official Tournament Website

Facebook Fans

Search News

© AFP/Getty Images


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2015 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile