Pro Tennis Internet Network

Lopez/Nadal Reclaim Indian Wells Title

Indian Wells, U.S.A.

Lopez, Nadal© Getty ImagesMarc Lopez and Rafael Nadal win their second title at the BNP Paribas Open.

Spaniards Marc Lopez and Rafael Nadal reclaimed the BNP Paribas Open doubles title with a 6-2, 7-6(3) win over Americans John Isner and Sam Querrey on Sunday in Indian Wells.

“It’s been a very good tournament for me,” said Nadal, who reached the semi-finals in singles (l. to Federer). “I enjoy a lot being here and Indian Wells is one of my favourite tournaments of the year. I feel very comfortable here.

“Finishing the two weeks with the victory is the best way to finish, even if it’s doubles, not singles. I’m playing well and I’m happy about most of the things that happened these past two weeks.”

Lopez and Nadal also captured the title at this ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournament in 2010, and are now 4-0 in finals. They also teamed to win the season opener in Doha in 2008 and ’11. Nadal now has eight doubles titles to his name, while Lopez has six.

“We are very close friends so it makes things more easy,” said Nadal. “Our styles of game are closer in doubles than with different partners because we feel comfortable from the baseline, we feel comfortable having some tactics from the net. Just enjoying the doubles for me is very good practice. I’m able to practise the volley, the return, and at the same time, I practise competing.”

Isner and Querrey were chasing their second ATP World Tour Masters 1000 title together, following their triumph in Rome last year.

Isner was also attempting to become the first man since Jim Courier in 1991 to win both the singles and doubles titles at this tournament. He lost to Roger Federer in the singles final earlier in the afternoon.

The BNP Paribas Open set an attendance record of 370,406, breaking last year's mark by more than 20,000.

Facebook Fans

Search News

© Getty Images


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2015 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile