Pro Tennis Internet Network

Nalbandian Issues Apology Following Default

London, U.K.

Nalbandian © Getty ImagesDavid Nalbandian apologises for his actions during the AEGON Championships final.

David Nalbandian issued a statement following the AEGON Championships final at the Queen’s Club, expressing that he felt “ashamed and sorry for the kick that unintentionally hurt the line umpire”.

“I never intended to hit him, it was an unfortunate reaction in which I wanted to let off steam after losing a point,” said the Argentine. “I had the opportunity to personally apologise to the line umpire for this regrettable act that I am fully responsible for.”

He also extended his apologies to the crowd, Tournament Director and to his followers in Argentina and around the world.

Nalbandian was defaulted in the Queen’s Club final after his kick to the front of a three-sided sponsor’s advertising board struck a linesman’s left leg, leaving his shin bloodied.

Search News

© AFP/Getty Images

Upcoming Tournaments

PLATINUM PARTNERS


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2014 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile

EmailDeliciousDeliciousDiggDiggFacebookFacebookMixxMixxRedditRedditStumbleUponStumbleUpon