Pro Tennis Internet Network

ATP Announces New Player Council

Player Council

London – The new ATP Player Council, selected by ATP player members, was announced at the pre-Wimbledon player meeting this evening. The new ATP Player Council includes returning players Roger Federer, Jarkko Nieminen, Eric Butorac and Andre Sa (served 2002-2004), as well as a number of new faces, elected for a two-year term to represent the ATP player membership.
Members elected by their peers to serve on the ATP Player Council through June 2014 are:

1-50 Singles: Kevin Anderson, Roger Federer, Jarkko Nieminen, Gilles Simon
51-100 Singles: Robin Haase, Sergiy Stakhovsky
1-100 Doubles: Mahesh Bhupathi, Eric Butorac
At-Large: James Cerretani, Andre Sa
Alumni: Brian Gottfried
Coach: Claudio Pistolesi (also served 2010-12)

ATP Executive Chairman and President Brad Drewett said, “I’d like to congratulate the newly-elected ATP Player Council and thank those players who have concluded their terms. The ATP Player Council plays an incredibly important role in the governance of the ATP, with a seat at the table all year round, helping to make decisions that affect the operation of the ATP World Tour. The players who serve give a significant amount of their personal time, more than people may realise. The men’s game is driving the unprecedented popularity and commercial success of the sport today, and I believe the opportunities ahead of us are very exciting.”

The new ATP Player Council will have its first meeting in New York prior to the US Open, where the President and Vice President will be elected.

Federer, who begins his third term on the council, said, “It has been four years of good work with the Player Council in which we have made progress in some areas. There is more to do and I am happy to be back with the council group. It's great to see some new players step up and I look forward to working with them to continue to grow our sport.” 

First-time council member Simon said, “I have been on the Tour for a long time, and have learned a lot about tournaments and players. I have some ideas to share with the other players, and feel it is important for us to work together and make good decisions. Tennis is at the top and we want to continue to improve.”

Doubles representative Bhupathi said, “The boys have put some faith in me to represent them in the Player Council and I will do my best. It is an interesting time with the top three players at the helm of the sport. There are many issues that are being addressed and I’m happy to be able to contribute with some input.”

The ATP Player Council meets several times a year and makes recommendations to ATP Management and the ATP Board of Directors through the three Player Board representatives, whom the Council elects.

On Friday, Giorgio di Palermo was re-elected by the outgoing Player Council as Player Board representative from the European region. Di Palermo will serve another three-year term starting January 1, 2013. The ATP Board of Directors comprises three Player Representatives, three Tournament Representatives, and ATP Executive Chairman and President Brad Drewett.

Drewett said, “I also extend my congratulations to Giorgio di Palermo for his re-election as a Player Board representative. Giorgio has contributed much in his first three years and it’s great that he is returning.”

How The ATP Is Structured


Facebook Fans

Related Topics:

ATP Corporate, News Releases

Search News


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2015 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile