Pro Tennis Internet Network

ATP Announces Formation Of Competition Committee

New York City, U.S.A.

The ATP has announced the inaugural members of its new Competition Committee, created to evaluate and recommend changes in the way the professional game is presented and played at ATP World Tour and ATP Challenger Tour events.

The ATP Competition Committee will serve purely in an advisory capacity, with any recommended changes or innovations continuing to require approval by the ATP Board of Directors. The six-person committee consists of two representatives designated by the ATP Tournament Council, two representatives designated by the ATP Player Council, and one at-large member and a committee chairman, both selected by the ATP Executive Chairman & President.

“I have enormous respect for the history and tradition of our game,” said ATP Executive Chairman and President Brad Drewett. “At the same time, it’s important that we continue to explore new and creative ideas for enhancing the competition and presentation of the sport. We have a great group involved and I look forward to seeing what they come up with.”

Sergio Palmieri and Graham Pearce have been selected as the two Tournament Council-designated representatives. Palmieri has served as Tournament Director at the Internazionali BNL d'Italia, an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event, since 2003. Pearce, a former Tournament Director of the Heineken Open in Auckland, an ATP World Tour 250 event, also served on the ATP Board of Directors from 2000 through 2010.

Lorne Abony and Weller Evans have been selected as the two Player Council-designated representatives. Abony is CEO and Chairman of Mood Media Corporation and has been an active member of the global tennis community, helping to raise in excess of $1 million to support worthy global causes through his charity Pro-Am events with the help of many past and present ATP players. Evans worked for the ATP for 25 years, the last 15 as Executive Vice President of Player Services, before retiring in 2006.

Richard Krajicek, the 1996 Wimbledon champion, has been designated as the at-large representative by Drewett. Krajicek reached a career-high South African Airways ATP Ranking of No.4 in 1999. The Dutchman is currently the Tournament Director of the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament in Rotterdam, an ATP World Tour 500 event.

Gayle David Bradshaw, ATP Executive Vice President of Rules & Competition, was appointed committee chairman by Drewett.

Facebook Fans

Related Topics:

ATP Corporate, News Releases

Search News


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2015 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile