Pro Tennis Internet Network

Bhupathi Goes For Fifth Dubai Title With Llodra; Play Lindstedt/Zimonjic In Final

Doubles 2013

Bhupathi, Llodra© Dubai Duty Free Tennis ChampionshipsMahesh Bhupathi and Michael Llodra reached the Dubai final on Friday.

Mahesh Bhupathi will attempt to capture his fifth Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships doubles title on Saturday with his fifth different partner. Bhupathi first won the Dubai title in 1998 with Leander Paes, then again in 2004 (w/Santoro), 2008 (w/Knowles) and 2012 (w/Bopanna).

Bhupathi and Michael Llodra advanced to the final after a 6-3, 6-7(2), 10-5 victory over Rohan Bopanna and Rajeev Ram in 89 minutes on Friday afternoon. The pair will meet third seed Robert Lindstedt and Nenad Zimonjic for the title.

Lindstedt and Zimonjic, who picked up their first team trophy at the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament in Rotterdam two weeks ago, beat Jonathan Erlich and Mikhail Youzhny 7-6(2), 7-6(2) in one hour and 48 minutes. Zimonjic won the 2007 Dubai title with Fabrice Santoro.

In Acapulco, second seeds Lukasz Kubot and David Marrero cruised past Thomaz Bellucci and Paolo Lorenzi 6-1, 6-2 to reach the Abierto Mexicano Telcel final. Marrero triumphed in last year's title match with Fernando Verdasco.

At the Delray Beach International Tennis Championships, No. 1 seeds Max Mirnyi and Horia Tecau dismissed Xavier Malisse and Frank Moser 6-0, 6-4 in 54 minutes. Mirnyi and Tecau will meet fourth-seeded Johan Brunstrom and Raven Klaasen for a place in the final. The Swedish/South African pair beat Jaroslav Levinsky and Yen-Hsun Lu 7-5, 6-1.

Follow ATP World Tour on Facebook & Twitter 

Facebook Fans

Search News

© Getty Images


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2015 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile