Pro Tennis Internet Network

April Preview: Nadal's Most Prolific Month

Monte-Carlo© Getty ImagesNovak Djokovic looks to retain his Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters crown.

Clay-Court Action in Full Swing
There are five clay-court tournaments in April, highlighted by the third ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournament of the season in Monte-Carlo and the 500-level event in Barcelona. World No. 1 Rafael Nadal leads the field in both tournaments, where he’s won a combined 15 titles. No. 2 Novak Djokovic is the reigning champion in Monte-Carlo.

April Title Winners
Nadal leads the way with 15 titles in the month of April, winning Monte-Carlo eight times and Barcelona seven times. He also won Barca once in May (2008). Here are the multiple title leaders in April:

Player No. Titles
Rafael Nadal
 15 2005-'12 Monte-Carlo; 2005-'09, '11-'13 Barcelona
Novak Djokovic
 4 2007, '11-'12 Miami; '13 Monte-Carlo
Roger Federer
 3 2005-'06 Miami; '08 Oeiras
Nicolas Almagro
 2 2006-'07 Valencia
Pablo Andujar
 2 2011-'12 Casablanca
Nikolay Davydenko
 2 2003 Oeiras; 2008 Miami
Fernando Verdasco
 2 2004 Valencia; 2010 Barcelona
Note: Some tournaments began in April and ended in May

April Favourite Month For Rafa
Nadal’s most productive month is April, when he has earned 15 of his 62 titles, followed by May (11), June (9) and July (7). In 2013, Nadal’s streak of 81 straight wins on clay in the month of April ended with his loss to rival Djokovic in the Monte-Carlo final. The following week he won his eighth title on home soil in Barcelona. He has won at least one title in April every year since 2005. Nadal has a 48-2 career record in Monte-Carlo and 40-1 in Barcelona.


Rafa Closing In On 300 Clay Wins
Nadal, who has the best winning percentage on clay (.934), is two victories away from becoming the 11th player in the Open Era to win at least 300 matches on the surface. Guillermo Vilas owns the most clay victories with 644.

Clay-Court Titles List
Nadal is second in the Open Era clay-court titles leaders list:

Player No.
Guillermo Vilas
Rafael Nadal
Thomas Muster
Bjorn Borg, Manuel Orantes
Ivan Lendl, Ilie Nastase
Jose-Luis Clerc
Mats Wilander
Andres Gomez, Carlos Moya


Big Four Continue Domination
In 34 of the past 36 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournaments (since ’10 Monte-Carlo), and 28 of the last 29 (since 2011), the Big Four of Nadal, Djokovic, Federer and Andy Murray have claimed the title. The only exceptions have come at Paris-Bercy in 2010 (Soderling) and ’12 (Ferrer). During that stretch, Djokovic has won 13 titles, Nadal, 11 titles, and Murray and Federer each picked up five. By winning the first two ATP World Tour Masters 1000 titles of the season, Djokovic is third on the career list with 18. Nadal (26) and Federer (21) remain ahead of the Serb.

Note: Going back to Monte-Carlo last season, the last nine ATP World Tour Masters 1000 titles have been won by Djokovic (five titles) and Nadal (four).

Bryans Close To Century Mark
The No. 1 team in nine of the past 11 years, Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan, are closing in on 100 titles on the ATP World Tour. They have 96 team titles (Mike has 98 overall). They have a busy month ahead with tournaments scheduled in Houston, Monte-Carlo and Barcelona.

Facebook Fans

Search News

© ATP World Tour/Peter Staples


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2015 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile