Pro Tennis Internet Network

Cuevas/Marrero Advance To Oeiras QFs; Cabal/Farah Fall In Munich

Doubles Round-Up

Sousa Elias© Lagos SportsPortuguese wild cards Joao Sousa and Gastao Elias advanced to the quarter-finals in Oeiras.

Top seeds Pablo Cuevas and David Marrero will play Indians Purav Raja and Divij Sharan in the Portugal Open quarter-finals after they broke Florin Mergea and Andre Sa five times in a 6-3, 6-4 victory on Wednesday. Marrero won the 2010 Oeiras title with Marc Lopez.

Third seeds and defending champions Santiago Gonzalez and Scott Lipsky recorded a 6-3, 6-3 victory over Carlos Berlocq and Pablo Carreno Busta in 57 minutes. They will face Teymuraz Gabashvili and Aleksandr Nedovyesov, who secured a quarter-final berth with a 6-4, 6-4 performance over Andrey Golubev and Mikhail Kukushkin.

Also in Oeiras, Guillermo Garcia-Lopez and Philipp Oswald knocked out 2007 semi-finalists Mariusz Fyrstenberg and Marcin Matkowski 7-6(0), 6-3 in 81 minutes. The ‘Polish Power’ lost in the BRD Nastase Tiriac Trophy final (l. to Rojer-Tecau) on Sunday.

Portuguese wild cards Gastao Elias and Joao Sousa needed one hour and twenty minutes to defeat Nicholas Monroe and Simon Stadler 1-6, 7-6(3), 10-3 in the first round. Matthew Ebden and Dmitry Tursunov also advanced against Jonathan Ehrlich and Paul Hanley 6-2, 6-2.

At the BMW Open by FWU AG, British duo Colin Fleming and Ross Hutchins needed 58 minutes to beat second seeds Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah 6-1, 6-4 for a semi-final berth. Cabal and Farah, who had reached the Munich semi-finals for the past two years, have a 1-4 record in title matches this year.

Later in the day, third seeds Jamie Murray and John Peers earned their fifth quarter-final of 2014 with a 6-4, 6-3 win against wild cards Alexander Satschko and Jan-Lennard Struff. Also winners were Australians Lleyton Hewitt and Marinko Matosevic, who overcame fourth seeds Tomasz Bednarek and Marin Draganja 6-4, 7-5 in 72 minutes in the first round.

Another Australian, Rameez Junaid, partnered with Finland's Jarkko Nieminen for a 6-2, 6-4 first-round triumph over wild cards Matthias Bachinger and Kevin Krawietz.

Facebook Fans

Search News

© Getty Images


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2015 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile