Pro Tennis Internet Network

Karlovic Edges Past Vesely For Düsseldorf Final Spot

Dusseldorf, Germany

Karlovic© Laci Perenyi-Rochus Turnier GmbHIvo Karlovic is one match win away from lifting his sixth ATP World Tour title.

Ivo Karlovic will attempt to win his sixth ATP World Tour title in Saturday's final against top-seeded German Philipp Kohlschreiber at the Dusseldorf Open.

Karlovic improved to 15-12 in tie-breaks this year after he hit 16 aces to defeat Jiri Vesely 7-6(6), 7-6(7) in one hour and 56 minutes at the Rochusclub on Friday afternoon. Vesely could not convert one set point opportunity at 7/6 in the second set tie-break.

“It is unbelievable,” Karlovic told “I didn’t expect it. I am really happy that it has come on clay courts. I was down in both tie-breaks, but I focused on my serve and waited for the mistakes.”

The 35-year-old Karlovic last lifted silverware in July 2013 at the Claro Open Colombia (d. Falla). He finished runner-up at the U.S. National Indoor Tennis Championships (l. to Nishikori) in February 2014.

In November 2013, Vesely was the recipient of the 'ATP Star of Tomorrow' presented by Emirates that is awarded to the youngest player in the Top 100 of the Emirates ATP Rankings. Today, marked his first ATP World Tour semi-final appearance.

Kohlschreiber, who wrapped up a 7-5, 4-6, 6-1 win over qualifier Mate Delic earlier in the day, edged past Denis Istomin 6-2, 4-6, 6-4 in one hour and 55 minutes to reach the final of the ATP World Tour 250 tennis tournament. It was his first win over Istomin in their fourth FedEx ATP Head2Head meeting. 

Read: The Last Time... With Kohlschreiber

Kohlschrieber has a 4-6 record in ATP World Tour finals. He won his fourth trophy at the 2012 BMW Open in Munich (d. Cilic).

Buy Tickets | TV Schedule

Doubles Final Set
Third seeds Santiago Gonzalez and Scott Lipsky will face Germans Martin Emmrich and Christopher Kas in the doubles final. Gonzalez and Lipsky beat second seeds Jamie Murray and John Peers 6-4, 7-5, while Emmrich and Kas defeated Johan Brunstrom and Frederik Nielsen 6-0, 7-5. Emmrich won last year’s title with Andre Begemann.

Facebook Fans

Search News

©Raed Krishan/Gazeta Sporturilor


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2015 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile