Pro Tennis Internet Network

Wawrinka Elected To ATP Player Council

Wimbledon, Great Britain

Wawrinka Player Council© Getty ImagesStan Wawrinka has joined the ATP Player Council for the first time.

The new ATP Player Council, voted by players, was announced on Saturday evening at the general player meeting at Wimbledon. The council, elected for a two-year term, is comprised of a number of returning members, as well as some new. Members elected by their peers to serve on the ATP Player Council through June 2016 are:

1-50 Singles: Kevin Anderson, John Isner, Gilles Simon, Stan Wawrinka

51-100 Singles: Jurgen Melzer, Sergiy Stakhovsky

1-100 Doubles: Raven Klaasen, Bruno Soares

At-Large: Eric Butorac, Andre Sa

Alumni: Yves Allegro

Coach: Claudio Pistolesi

The new ATP Player Council will have its first meeting in New York prior to the US Open, where the President and Vice President will be elected. Having served as the President of the Council since 2008, Roger Federer elected not to run for a fourth consecutive term.

Chris Kermode, ATP Executive Chairman & President, said: “I’d like to congratulate all the players who have been selected by their peers to represent the players on the ATP Player Council. The Council plays a critical role in the ATP’s governance of our sport. We have a good mix of previous council members returning for an additional term, as well as some new members. Having the players truly engaged in the decision-making process in our sport is hugely important.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Roger for the outstanding contribution he has made during the past six years as President of the ATP Player Council. The ATP World Tour is in terrific health today, not only as a result of the performance of our top players on the court, but also due to their considerable efforts off it. Generous with his time and always willing to invest his energy away from the court for the greater good of the game, Roger and his leadership in the Player Council will be missed. I have little doubt, however, that Roger will remain as engaged as ever, albeit in a less official capacity.”

Swiss World No. 3 Stan Wawrinka joins the Council for the first time: “It’s a very interesting time in our sport, and I’m looking forward to being able to contribute my time and energy to the Player Council in our efforts to continue to grow the ATP World Tour in years ahead.”

Frenchman Gilles Simon returns to the Council for a second consecutive term: “It has been a great experience for me to be closely involved in some of the decision making in our sport over the past two years. I feel like we have achieved some good things with a united player group, and I look forward to continuing this good work.”

Eric Butorac, also returning for another term, said: "It's a huge honour to be re-elected by my peers and be on the Council again. I've been on for six years so I feel like I've had a lot of time to understand how the ATP World Tour works, meet a lot of people behind the scenes, the Tournament Directors. Hopefully I can be very beneficial to the players in the next two years. Our council is as strong as ever and we have a large portion of it returning. Along with that, some top players like Stan and John are joining the council, which will be very beneficial moving forward."

Sergiy Stakhovsky said: "It means the players trust me hopefully and it means something was done right in the past two years with the previous Council. Hopefully we can work forward in the same way. It's definitely going to be hard to replace Roger as the President with any of the other guys. Roger's been a huge figure in our sport and having him as our President was a privilege. All the guys that are new to the board have been in tennis a long time. They know how the sport runs and what needs to be done to make it better."

Council newcomer John Isner said: "It's very humbling that my peers elected me in. This is going to be fairly new to me, but at the same time it's something that I wanted to do. So I'm very honoured to be on the Player Council now and I'm looking forward to all of our future meetings and to see what positive change I can bring.

The ATP Player Council meets several times a year and makes recommendations to ATP Management and the ATP Board of Directors through the three Player Board representatives, whom the Council elects.

On Friday, David Egdes was re-elected by the outgoing Player Council as Player Board representative from the International Group region. Egdes will serve another three-year term starting 1 January 2015. The ATP Board of Directors comprises three Player Representatives, three Tournament Representatives, and ATP Executive Chairman and President Chris Kermode.

Buy Tickets | TV Schedule 

Facebook Fans

Search News

© ATP World Tour/Peter Staples


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2015 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile