Pro Tennis Internet Network

Djokovic Named Top Seed For Wimbledon; Defending Champion Murray Third Seed

Wimbledon, England

Murray© AFP/Getty ImagesLast year, Andy Murray became the first British male singles winner at Wimbledon since 1936.

Novak Djokovic, the 2011 titlist, has been named top seed for The Championships on Wednesday.

Rafael Nadal, who clinched his 14th Grand Slam championship at Roland Garros two weeks ago and is currently No. 1 in the Emirates ATP Rankings, is No. 2 seed. Nadal's seeding was influenced by his first-round loss to Steve Darcis at Wimbledon last year and his opening-round exit to Dustin Brown at the Gerry Weber Open last week.

Defending champion Andy Murray is third seed, while fourth seed Roger Federer is aiming to capture his eighth Wimbledon title.

Stan Wawrinka, this year's Australian Open champion, has been named the No. 5 seed. It means that Wawrinka could meet Djokovic, Nadal or Murray in the quarter-finals.

The singles draw ceremony takes place on Friday.

The singles seeds reflect the Top 32 in the Emirates ATP Rankings, but the seeding order is then rearranged on a surface-based system. The formula is: 

• Take Emirates ATP Rankings points at 16 June 2014.
• Add 100 per cent points earned for all grass-court tournaments in the past 12 months.
• Add 75 per cent points earned for the best grass-court tournament in the 12 months before that.

Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan, the winners of 15 major titles, are top seeds in the doubles draw. They have captured three Wimbledon titles in 2006, 2011 and 2013. 

2014 Singles Seeds
[1] Novak Djokovic (SRB)
[2] Rafael Nadal (ESP)
[3] Andy Murray (GBR)
[4] Roger Federer (SUI)
[5] Stan Wawrinka (SUI)
[6] Tomas Berdych (CZE)
[7] David Ferrer (ESP)
[8] Milos Raonic (CAN)
[9] John Isner (USA)
[10] Kei Nishikori (JPN)
[11] Grigor Dimitrov (BUL)
[12] Ernests Gulbis (LAT)
[13] Richard Gasquet (FRA) 
[14] Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)
[15] Jerzy Janowicz (POL)
[16] Fabio Fognini (ITA)
[17] Mikhail Youzhny (RUS) 
[18] Fernando Verdasco (ESP)
[19] Feliciano Lopez (ESP)
[20] Kevin Anderson (RSA)
[21] Alexandr Dolgopolov (UKR)
[22] Philipp Kohlschreiber (GER)
[23] Tommy Robredo (ESP)
[24] Gael Monfils (FRA) 
[25] Nicolas Almagro (ESP)
[26] Andreas Seppi (ITA)
[27] Marin Cilic (CRO)
[28] Roberto Bautista Agut (ESP)
[29] Guillermo Garcia-Lopez (ESP)
[30] Ivo Karlovic (CRO)
[31] Marcel Granollers (ESP)
[32] Dmitry Tursunov (RUS)

2014 Doubles Seeds
[1] Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA)
[2] Alexander Peya (AUT) / Bruno Soares (BRA)
[3] Daniel Nestor (CAN) / Nenad Zimonjic (SRB)
[4] Julien Benneteau (FRA) / Edouard Roger-Vasselin (FRA)
[5] Leander Paes (IND) / Radek Stepanek (CZE)
[6] Marcel Granollers (ESP) / Marc Lopez (ESP)
[7] Lukasz Kubot (POL) / Robert Lindstedt (SWE)
[8] Rohan Bopanna (IND) / Aisam-Ul-Haq Qureshi (PAK)
[9] Julian Knowle (AUT) / Marcelo Melo (BRA)
[10] Treat Huey (PHI) / Dominic Inglot (GBR)
[11] Jean-Julien Rojer (NED) / Horia Tecau (ROU) 
[12] Michael Llodra (FRA) / Nicolas Mahut (FRA)
[13] Eric Butorac (USA) / Raven Klaasen (RSA)
[14] Jamie Murray (GBR) / John Peers (AUS)
[15] Juan Sebastian Cabal (COL) / Marcin Matkowski (POL)
[16] Pablo Cuevas (URU) / David Marrero (ESP)

Facebook Fans

Search News

© ATP World Tour/Peter Staples


Get Your ATP
Fan Credential

  • Insider News
  • Daily Results
  • Mobile Alerts
  • Ticket Offers

© Copyright 1994 - 2015 ATP Tour, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of ATP Tour, Inc.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Enable Mobile