© Jared Wickerham/BNP Paribas Open

(L-R) Linda Clark, ATP Vice President- Tournament Relations, Americas, BNP Paribas Open Chief Operating Officer Steve Birdwell, BNP Paribas Open Tournament Director Tommy Haas and Fabio Fognini were on hand as the tournament was presented ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Tournament of the Year honours.

BNP Paribas Open Receives ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Tournament Of Year Award

Popular ATP World Tour event receives recognition

The BNP Paribas Open was presented with the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Tournament of the Year award for the third consecutive season.  The honour is part of the 2016 ATP World Tour Awards presented by Moët & Chandon. 

Linda Clark, ATP Vice President - Tournament Relations, Americas, presented tournament director Tommy Haas with the trophy on Saturday in an on-court ceremony following Fabio Fognini's victory over Jo-Wilfried Tsonga.

“As a player, I can understand why this event has been named ‘Tournament of the Year’ on the ATP World Tour for the third consecutive year,” said Haas. “Now as a member of the Indian Wells team, I have even more respect for the countless hours of planning and dedication that the entire staff contributes to make the BNP Paribas Open one of the best sporting events in the world.”

The tournament received the distinction for the first time in 2014, following the debut of its state-of-the-art Stadium 2, additional practice courts and a new shade structure. Following the 2016 event, numerous improvements have been made to Stadium 1, including upgrading, expanding and adding concessions and suites for the 2017 tournament.

The 2017 BNP Paribas Open concludes on 19 March.

More stories like this in: