© AFP/Getty Images

Roger Federer has been named No. 17 seed for the 2017 Australian Open, which begins on 15 January.

Federer Outside Of Top 16 Seeds For 2017 Australian Open

Swiss goes for his 18th major crown

Four-time former champion Roger Federer could run into a Top 16 seed early at the Australian Open, having been listed outside the Top 10 seeds for the first time since the 2002 US Open (No. 13 seed).

The Swiss superstar, who has won 17 Grand Slam championship titles, has been named as the No. 17 seed. Pete Sampras was No. 17 seed when he won his 14th and final major at the 2002 US Open.

World No. 1 Andy Murray will attempt to go one better than his five runner-up finishes, while No. 2-ranked Novak Djokovic is bidding to capture a record-breaking seventh Australian Open crown. Rafael Nadal, the 2009 titlist, is the ninth seed.

The 2017 Australian Open draw ceremony will take place on Friday, 13 January at 11 a.m. (AEDT), 2 a.m. (GMT), 8 p.m. ET (12 January). Main draw action gets underway on 16 January.

Singles Seeds

1) Andy Murray (GBR)
2) Novak Djokovic (SRB)
3) Milos Raonic (CAN)
4) Stan Wawrinka (SUI)
5) Kei Nishikori (JPN)
6) Gael Monfils (FRA)
7) Marin Cilic (CRO)
8) Dominic Thiem (AUT)
9) Rafael Nadal (ESP)
10) Tomas Berdych (CZE)
11) David Goffin (BEL)
12) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)
13) Roberto Bautista Agut (ESP)
14) Nick Kyrgios (AUS)
15) Grigor Dimitrov (BUL)
16) Lucas Pouille (FRA)
17) Roger Federer (SUI)
18) Richard Gasquet (FRA)
19) John Isner (USA)
20) Ivo Karlovic (CRO)
21) David Ferrer (ESP)
22) Pablo Cuevas (URU)
23) Jack Sock (USA)
24) Alexander Zverev (GER)
25) Gilles Simon (FRA)
26) Albert Ramos-Vinolas (ESP)
27) Bernard Tomic (AUS)
28) Feliciano Lopez (ESP)
29) Viktor Troicki (SRB)
30) Pablo Carreno Busta (ESP)
31) Sam Querrey (USA)
32) Philipp Kohlschreiber (GER)

More stories like this in: